Series 1 - College Books

Identity elements

Reference code

US MBE MSS 044-1

Name and location of repository

Level of description



College Books


  • 1903 - 1911 (Publication)


5 books

Name of creator

Content and structure elements

Scope and content

This series consists of five hardbound books containing plays by William Shakespeare (1564-1616), annotated by Berner during her studies at the Emerson College of Oratory. Books are from the New Rolfe Shakespeare series edited by William J. Rolfe and published by the American Book Company from 1903 to 1911.

System of arrangement

Titles are arranged according to the dates of use, as indicated by Berner's notes in the inside pages. Undated texts were placed last, arranged alphabetically by title.

Conditions of access and use elements

Conditions governing access

Physical access

Technical access

Conditions governing reproduction

Languages of the material

  • English

Scripts of the material

Language and script notes

Finding aids

Acquisition and appraisal elements

Custodial history


Related materials elements

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related archival materials

Related descriptions

Notes element

Alternative identifier(s)

Description control element

Rules or conventions

Sources used

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places